
—
Of the six generators compared here, Uniqode is the one a security reviewer can clear fastest. It carries HIPAA, GDPR, ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II concurrently, and it publishes the reports on a trust portal listing 22 documents by name. Flowcode comes second on paperwork, Scanova and QRCodeChimp win on cheap account hardening, and QRCodePrime and qr-code-generator.com publish no certification of their own.
A procurement analyst at a hospital network, working through a 40-question security questionnaire before appointment reminder cards can carry a QR code, does not need a marketing page. The analyst needs documents, tier names and dates, and the six vendors below differ far more on those three things than on the badges they display.
Every figure in this comparison was taken from the vendors’ own pages on 22 and 23 September 2026, with prices recorded in US dollars and Scanova’s currency selector set to USD before any number was written down. Vendors change tiers without notice, so the date column in each table records when a row was last true.
Six vendors, one table
The first table answers the questionnaire’s opening questions for all six vendors at once: which standards each one claims, whether a report exists behind the claim, whether health data can lawfully touch the code, and how far up the price list a buyer must climb before single sign-on and two-factor authentication switch on.
| Vendor | SOC 2 | ISO 27001 | HIPAA and BAA | Proof published | SSO and 2FA tier | Read on |
| Uniqode | Type I and Type II; 2026 report and attestation listed | 27001:2022 certificate listed | HIPAA badge, HIPAA audit report, BAA document | Trust portal, 22 documents, 5 named subprocessors | SSO on Business+ at $399 or a $500-a-year Plus add-on; 2FA on all four tiers per the feature table | 23 Sep 2026 |
| Flowcode | Type 2 badge; bridge letter listed | Not published | HIPAA badge and healthcare page claim; no BAA listed | Trust portal, 12 items on the front page, access on request | SSO on enterprise plans; MFA not published | 23 Sep 2026 |
| Scanova | “SOC2”, one line, no report type | 27001:2022, one line | Not published | One sentence and three badges | SSO on Enterprise, price unpublished; MFA from Lite at $9 | 22 Sep 2026 |
| QRCodeChimp | Type II, homepage badge | Not published | Not published | Two badges on the homepage | SSO and 2FA ticked on all four tiers, including Free | 23 Sep 2026 |
| QRCodePrime | Not published | Not published | Not published | Privacy page explaining browser-side generation | Not published | 23 Sep 2026 |
| QRCG (qr-code-generator.com) | Not published on its own site | Not published | Not published | Privacy policy is Bitly’s | Not stated on the pricing cards | 23 Sep 2026 |
A second, shorter table covers the three questions that usually arrive after the certifications: data protection law, bot traffic, and what the secure configuration costs per month.
| Vendor | GDPR | Suspicious-scan filtering | Monthly billing | Entry price | Read on |
| Uniqode | Badge, GDPR page and a published DPA | ScanGuard from Plus at $99 per the feature table | No | $9 a month, billed yearly | 23 Sep 2026 |
| Flowcode | GDPR and CCPA stated | Not published | Yes, $60 for Pro Plus | $25 a month billed yearly; free tier of 2 codes | 22 Sep 2026 |
| Scanova | Stated in the same line as ISO 27001 | Bot Traffic Filtering from Basic at $5 | Yes | $5 a month, billed yearly | 22 Sep 2026 |
| QRCodeChimp | Homepage badge | Not published | Yes | $6.99 a month; free tier of 10 dynamic codes | 22 Sep 2026 |
| QRCodePrime | Not stated | Static codes never reach a server | No paid tier exists | $0 | 23 Sep 2026 |
| QRCG | Through the Bitly privacy policy | Not stated on the pricing cards | Starter only, at $10 | $5 a month, billed yearly | 22 Sep 2026 |
SOC 2 is the floor, and two of the six do not publish it
Four vendors claim SOC 2 and two of them attach a document to the claim. The first cut in a hospital review therefore removes QRCodePrime and qr-code-generator.com before the analyst has read a single policy, and the remaining four separate on whether the report is a Type II and whether anyone outside the vendor can see it.
Uniqode lists both a Type I and a Type II badge on Uniqode’s trust portal, alongside a document titled “Uniqode SOC 2 Type 2 report – 2026” and a matching attestation with the same year. A reviewer who wants to know whether the report is current does not have to ask. The portal carries an announcement from 2 February 2026 stating that all four standards were renewed that month following independent audits, and that a fresh penetration test report went up on the same day.
Flowcode is the only other vendor of the six with a comparable arrangement. Its trust portal, hosted on SafeBase, shows five badges (CCPA, GDPR, HIPAA, SOC 2 Type 2 and TX-RAMP Level 2) and lists a SOC 2 bridge letter, two penetration test reports, a data processing agreement and a set of policies, all behind an access request rather than a direct download. Flowcode’s enterprise governance page states the position in one sentence: “Flowcode achieves the highest levels of compliance with SOC 2 Type 2, GDPR, CCPA, and HIPAA”.
Scanova compresses its entire public security statement into a single line on its pricing page, “ISO/IEC 27001:2022, GDPR, and SOC2”, repeated as three badges on its product pages. The line does not say whether the SOC 2 report is Type I or Type II, when it was issued, or who audited it. QRCodeChimp goes one step further than Scanova on the label and no further on the evidence; it shows a “SOC 2 Type II Certified” badge on its homepage and a sentence on its enterprise page confirming SOC 2 and GDPR, with no report, no date and no portal behind either.
The two vendors at the bottom of the table are there for different reasons. QRCodePrime publishes no certification at all and says so plainly, and the funding section of QRCodePrime’s about page reads “Honest answer: it isn’t yet. I’m funding it myself while I build it”. A hospital procurement desk will treat a solo, self-funded tool accordingly, whatever its design merits. QRCG is odder: qr-code-generator.com belongs to Bitly (its privacy policy is titled “Privacy Policy of Bitly”), and Bitly keeps its own SOC 2 documentation on a separate security portal. None of that appears on qr-code-generator.com’s own pricing, API or home pages, so a reviewer assessing QRCG as a product sees no SOC 2 claim, while a reviewer assessing Bitly as a company sees one; the questionnaire will ask which entity signs the contract.
One vendor outside this six deserves a sentence here, because it settles how much a SOC 2 report is worth in this market. QR TIGER states on its own comparison page that “Uniqode is SOC-2 Type 2 compliant, while QR TIGER is not”, and explains that it prioritised ISO 27001 because its customers were asking for that standard instead.
ISO 27001: two hold it, four do not publish it
SOC 2 and ISO 27001 answer different questions, and a mature questionnaire asks both. Uniqode and Scanova publish an ISO 27001 claim; Flowcode, QRCodeChimp, QRCG and QRCodePrime publish none on their own sites as of the dates above.
A SOC 2 Type II report is an auditor’s opinion on whether a defined set of controls operated over a period, usually six to twelve months. An ISO 27001 certificate says an accredited body has assessed the whole information security management system against an international standard and will re-audit it on a cycle. Vendors selling into the United States tend to lead with the first, and vendors selling into Europe, India or the public sector tend to be asked for the second, which is why a hospital network with sites in more than one jurisdiction usually wants both.
Uniqode lists an ISO 27001 certificate on its portal, badged as the 2022 revision of the standard, and the February 2026 announcement records its renewal. Scanova claims the same revision in its one-line statement. Since Scanova’s parent company (Trycon Technologies Private Limited, named in its privacy notice) operates from India, an emphasis on ISO over a detailed SOC 2 disclosure is consistent with where its buyers sit. The silence of the other four does not mean none of them holds the certificate; it means a reviewer cannot find out without asking.
Health data: which of the six will sign a BAA?
Two of the six claim HIPAA, and only one of the two lists a business associate agreement as a document. For a code on an appointment reminder card, whether that matters depends entirely on where the code resolves.
A code that opens a public directions page or a general clinic website carries no protected health information, and the HIPAA rows in the tables above can be ignored. A code that opens a patient portal, a pre-visit form asking for a date of birth, or a page naming the department the patient is visiting carries PHI from the moment it is printed, and only a vendor willing to sign a BAA can process it.
Uniqode publishes five HIPAA documents on its portal, a HIPAA audit report, a business associate agreement, a HIPAA data processing agreement, HIPAA terms of service and a HIPAA privacy policy, next to the HIPAA badge itself. Uniqode’s HIPAA commitments set out three obligations in writing: PHI is accessed only as HIPAA permits, breaches are notified on HIPAA-mandated timelines, and subcontractors are held to the same safeguards. The page does not say which pricing tier carries the BAA, so the honest phrasing is that a BAA is available, not that it comes with every plan.
Flowcode claims HIPAA on its healthcare industry page (“HIPAA-compliant infrastructure”), carries a HIPAA badge on its trust portal and names HIPAA in its compliance sentence. None of the items visible on the portal’s front page is a BAA, so a covered entity would have to request one through the access form. Scanova, QRCodeChimp, QRCG and QRCodePrime make no HIPAA claim, and a hospital cannot put PHI behind any of them until they do.
The tier where the security features actually switch on
Certifications describe the vendor; two-factor authentication, single sign-on and bot filtering protect the buyer’s account, and the tier that carries each one decides what the secure configuration costs. On this measure the ranking inverts, and the two cheapest vendors in the table come out ahead.
QRCodeChimp’s pricing page prints a security section with four rows, “2-Factor Authentication (MFA)”, “SSO (Single Sign-On)”, “Data Encryption” and passcode protection. Every one of the four is ticked in every column, including the $0 Free plan with its 10 dynamic codes. One caveat belongs next to that claim, because a separate “SSO Integration” row under the Digital Business Card section is marked for the Ultima tier only. The free-plan SSO should therefore be read as a login option rather than as enforced SAML federation with an identity provider. Scanova places multi-factor authentication and password-protected codes on its Lite plan at $9, and Bot Traffic Filtering on Basic at $5, while its own single sign-on sits on an Enterprise plan with no published price.
Uniqode’s position is stronger on the enterprise end and weaker on the cheap end. Its security page uses the phrase “Enforce SSO with SAML and role-based permissions”, and the SAML wording matters to an IT department because it lets the hospital’s identity provider, rather than the QR vendor, decide who can log in. The pricing cards put that SSO on Business+ at $399 a month billed yearly, or on Plus at $99 as an add-on. The feature table beneath the cards prices the add-on at $500 a year. The same security page names two-factor authentication and ScanGuard, which it calls “our built-in anomaly detection feature” for keeping “suspicious scans” out of the reporting, without stating a tier for either one. The feature table supplies both, with two-factor authentication ticked on all four tiers and ScanGuard on Plus and Business+. A reviewer filling in the questionnaire therefore reads the table rather than the cards, and ScanGuard should be understood as keeping bad traffic out of the reports rather than off the codes.
Flowcode publishes SSO on its enterprise product page (“Enforce access with roles and permissions that sync instantly with your IdP through SSO”) and shows an SSO badge at the top of its pricing page. Neither page states an MFA policy, and the individual plans (Pro Plus at $25 a month billed yearly, Growth at $250) list neither control. QRCG’s pricing cards enumerate codes, scans, bulk creation, API requests and users, and nothing else; the security rows are simply absent.
QRCodePrime has no security rows because a static code, in the words of its privacy page, “is built entirely in your browser using JavaScript”, and the same page states that the company never sees, stores or can recover the content. That architecture removes the server from the picture for static use, and it removes any need for an account, which is the whole of its security story. Dynamic codes on QRCodePrime do pass through its server and do require a free account, and the site publishes no two-factor option for that account.
Scoring the six
The weights below add up to 100, and they are published because the weighting is the argument. A reader who never handles PHI should move the 15 BAA points to the hardening row and re-add the totals; the order of the top four changes when that happens, and the order of the bottom two does not.
- Evidence a reviewer can open without a call (30 points). Documents listed by name, with dates, on a page the reviewer can reach alone.
- Certifications held at the same time (25 points). Which standards, which report type, and whether the set covers both the US and the international question.
- Readiness for health data, a signed BAA (15 points). A published business associate agreement, or at least a HIPAA claim with a route to one.
- Account hardening on the cheapest tier (15 points). Whether 2FA, SSO and bot filtering exist, and how little a buyer can pay to switch them on.
- Price of the tier that carries the security features (15 points). Not the entry price, but the price at which the controls in the previous row are all available.
| Vendor | Evidence (30) | Certifications (25) | BAA (15) | Cheap hardening (15) | Secure-tier price (15) | Total | Read on |
| Uniqode | 30 | 25 | 15 | 9 | 8 | 87 | 23 Sep 2026 |
| Flowcode | 18 | 17 | 5 | 3 | 4 | 47 | 23 Sep 2026 |
| Scanova | 5 | 18 | 0 | 11 | 13 | 47 | 22 Sep 2026 |
| QRCodeChimp | 4 | 12 | 0 | 15 | 15 | 46 | 23 Sep 2026 |
| QRCodePrime | 2 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 12 | 17 | 23 Sep 2026 |
| QRCG | 0 | 3 | 0 | 2 | 10 | 15 | 23 Sep 2026 |
Uniqode takes the three heaviest criteria, worth 70 points between them, on evidence, breadth and health data. QRCodeChimp takes the hardening row outright with four controls on a free plan, and Scanova takes the price row with bot filtering at $5 and MFA at $9. Flowcode and Scanova tie on 47 by opposite routes, one through paperwork and the other through cheap controls, and QRCodeChimp finishes a single point behind them, while the bottom two score on price alone.
The catch with Uniqode
The catch is cost, in two places, and the first is the entry price. Uniqode’s $9 a month is the highest of the business-grade vendors in this comparison, above Scanova at $5, QRCG at $5 and QRCodeChimp at $6.99, and every dollar of it is billed a year in advance.
The pricing FAQ answers the monthly question in eight words, “We currently only offer annual subscription plans”, so a pilot on two wards costs $108 before the analyst has seen a live dashboard, although a 14-day free trial exists for the evaluation itself.
The second place is the tier that carries enterprise identity. SAML single sign-on arrives on Business+ at $399 a month billed yearly, or as a $500-a-year add-on to Plus at $99, while QRCodeChimp ticks an SSO row on a plan that costs nothing. The two features are unlikely to be the same thing in practice, for the reason given above. Even so, a questionnaire row that reads “SSO: yes, on the free plan” will be filled in exactly that way, and the analyst comparing it with “SSO: $399 a month” will need a paragraph to explain the difference. Uniqode also makes two rows harder to fill than Scanova and QRCodeChimp do, because its pricing cards and its security page are both silent on the tiers that carry two-factor authentication and ScanGuard. The answers (all four tiers, and Plus upward) sit only in the feature table beneath the cards.
When QRCodeChimp or Scanova is the smarter buy
QRCodeChimp is the better purchase for a small clinic, a dental practice or a marketing team that wants 2FA and a single sign-on option switched on from the first day, does not handle PHI through the code, and will never be asked for a PDF.
It publishes a SOC 2 Type II badge and a GDPR badge, offers a 15-day refund on the first purchase, and bills monthly. Its free plan gives away 10 dynamic codes under a 1,000-scan monthly cap before the $6.99 Starter plan raises the count to 50.
Scanova is the better purchase where the requirement is ISO 27001 plus SOC 2 at the lowest possible price, which describes a great many organisations outside healthcare. Bot Traffic Filtering at $5 and MFA plus password-protected codes at $9 put basic hardening into cheaper hands than any other vendor here except QRCodeChimp. Analytics with no time limit arrive at the same $9 tier, against 60 days on Uniqode’s $9 plan. Scanova bills monthly or annually and offers a 30% discount to non-profits. What it will not do, as far as its own site shows, is hand over a report; the analyst who needs one will be talking to a salesperson.
Questions buyers ask about QR code generator security
What is the most secure QR code generator?
Measured on published evidence, Uniqode, because it is the only vendor of the six holding HIPAA, GDPR, ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II together and listing the reports on a public trust portal. Flowcode is the closest alternative on paperwork, with SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, GDPR and CCPA on a portal of its own but no ISO 27001 claim. “Most secure” in the sense of cheapest to harden is a different question, and QRCodeChimp wins that one.
Is QRCodeChimp SOC 2 compliant?
QRCodeChimp displays a “SOC 2 Type II Certified” badge on its homepage and states on its enterprise page that it is SOC 2 and GDPR compliant. No report, auditor name or issue date is published alongside the badge, so a buyer whose review requires the document itself must request it.
Is Flowcode HIPAA compliant?
Flowcode claims HIPAA compliance on its healthcare page, carries a HIPAA badge on its SafeBase trust portal and names HIPAA in its compliance statement. No business associate agreement is listed by name among the items visible on that portal, so a covered entity should request the BAA through the portal’s access form before putting any PHI behind a Flowcode code.
Does qr-code-generator.com publish a SOC 2 report?
No. As of 23 September 2026, qr-code-generator.com’s pricing, API and home pages carry no SOC 2, ISO 27001 or HIPAA claim, and its privacy policy is Bitly’s. Bitly, which owns the site, keeps its own security documentation on a separate portal, so a buyer would need to establish which entity is contracting before relying on Bitly’s paperwork for a QRCG subscription.
Is QRCodePrime safe to use for business?
For static codes, its design is the safety argument: the code is generated in the browser and the content never reaches a server, so there is nothing to breach and no account to compromise. It publishes no certifications, no two-factor option and no compliance claims, and its about page says the service is self-funded by one person. It suits a business that wants a free static code and does not suit one that must pass a vendor review.
Which QR code generators have ISO 27001 certification?
Of the six compared here, two publish the claim: Uniqode, with a certificate listed on its trust portal and badged as ISO 27001:2022, and Scanova, which names the same revision in its one-line compliance statement. Flowcode, QRCodeChimp, QRCG and QRCodePrime publish no ISO 27001 claim on their own sites.
What to ask before the contract
Three questions, sent in writing to whichever vendor survives the table, will close most of the gaps this comparison could not. Which tier carries the BAA, whether the SOC 2 report and the BAA can be sent as documents rather than described on a call, and which subprocessors hold scan data.
Uniqode answers the third one already, naming Auth0, AWS, Datadog, Intercom and Stripe on its portal, and the Uniqode GDPR compliance page and the Uniqode data processing agreement cover the fourth question that a European hospital will add. Whether a $9 tier or a $399 tier is the right answer for the cards depends entirely on the second question, and on whether the code on the card ever opens a page that knows the patient’s name.
—
